Home

Late night service @The Champagne Bar by Richard Juhlin … time to go home … Nope! I passed by Djuret in the old town of Stockholm on my way home. Strange but this place seems to always be ‘on my way home’ …

Found my friend ‘Grand Danois’ eating a late night dinner with some friends and a couple of great bottles of Burgundy:  2011 ‘La Romanée’ from Domaine du Comte Liger-Belair & 2004 ‘Échezeaux’ from Domaine  Charlopaiin-Parizot.

After a couple of tasting samples of these great Burgundies I got a patch on my back from the sommelier and he handed me a glass of bubbly. ‘What’s this?’ I asked him. ‘It’s from the gentleman in the corner’ he replied. I say a familiar face at the end of the bar. ‘Come on mister hot-shot, let’s se how Your tastebuds works tonight’ he said.

Well I couldn’t get a way from a late night game of ‘Blind tasting champagne’.

Dom Pérignon Bj

I sniffed the glass and smiled! ‘Oh, this is how a mature champagne from the seventies should be.’  The gentleman look surprised that I just threw my self in to the deep end och the bubbly pool.

The champagne showed the classical and typical DP-notes of hazelnuts & After Eight-mintyness. I went straight for mid seventies. ‘Hm, It’s DP for sure, but have I had this vintage?’  He replied ‘You had this Champagne with sommelier world champion Andreas Larsson 10 years back at a dinner.’

‘Ah, the 1976 DP Oenothèque!’ I shouted out. ‘No sorry, it’s the 1973’ he replied.

DP rosé tasting (photo Raphaël Cameron)150416_0169

1973 DOM PÉRIGNON ‘CUVÉE DOM PÉRIGNON | Epernay | Champagne | France | Dom Pérignon | 50PN 50CH | RJpoints 95(95)

TASTING NOTE ‘Relatively rich nose with slightly toasted elements. Fruity but without its restrained elegance. An aroma of mushroom cream and bread-like taste, with well-rounded edges. Fine apricot opulence in the middle taste gorgeously backed up by young gooseberry tones as well as the honey and chocolate of maturity. What a great ’73 perfect to drink now! I’m impressed with the freshness! Didn’t expect this!’

We got in to a debate on mature vintages in Champagne. And we got intrigued that the 1976 was also on the winelist. Did we order it? But of course!

_MG_5165-3

1976 DOM PÉRIGNON ‘CUVÉE DOM PÉRIGNON | Epernay | Champagne | France | Dom Pérignon | 50PN 50CH | RJpoints 96(96)

TASTING NOTE ‘A wine that has impressed me very little in the past, with its vintage-typical, slightly burned, warm character. That’s why it was it was such a great surprise that I liked the ’76 so much. This bottle had a sensual floweriness that distinguishes the foremost ’76s, as well as a stately, long, sweet finish. Grandiose! Winner of the comprehensive DP tasting in Copenhagen 2006.’ 

Leave a Reply

